BWE: Baking with ExTrAs

So I love to fake bake–there is something calming about turning the oven to 350+ and something poetic about using a whisk to mix batter together. Note, however, that there is nothing nice about measuring ingredients. Maybe some people like opening up five different bags and cans of powders and flours, but I would rather open one bag/box/packet, crack some eggs, throw in a few liquids and be on my merry way.

There is something to be said about experimentation and personalization…

Which is why I love to use ready-made mixes or break-and-bakes to be a base for the baked good and then add either extras or modify the ingredient portions to re-purpose the base.

Nice Krispies:

(krisp rice & treats)

Every time I’ve made rise krispy-esque treats for the office, it has ended with surprisingly positive feedback. It always gets messy when I’m making it (no matter how I try, the marshmallow and butter combo never works in my favor) but people really like eating them!


3 tablespoons butter or margarine
1 package (10 oz., about 40) regular marshmallows
– OR –
4 cups miniature marshmallows
6 cups cereal
In microwave-safe bowl heat butter and marshmallows on HIGH for 3 minutes, stirring after 2 minutes. Stir until smooth. Add cereal and stir until well coated. Using buttered spatula or wax paper [I save the wax cereal bag to line the pan] evenly press mixture into pan coated with cooking spray. Cool. Cut & serve.

With childhood inspiration of my mom making ‘rice krispie pizza’ to bring in to elementary school instead of birthday cake, I like to incorporate more than just cereal and mallow. Some variations have been:

  1. flavored marshmellows
  2. kashi [and other types of] cereal
  3. chocolate [or other dessert sauce] drizzled on top
  4. candies, chocolates and sprinkles mixed in

(traditional krispie recipie)

Puppy Chow:

(white trash/muddy buddies/yum)

I have known this since my double digit years because we made it at camp as a cookout {yes, on the fire} dessert. It got to be a tradition to make at my best friend’s house in high school

Topped Delights:

(anything with a little sprinkle on top)


(cookies with cake mix)


1 package Funfetti Cake Mix
1/3 cup Vegetable Oil
2 large eggs
Heat oven to 375°F. Combine cake mix, oil and eggs in large bowl. Stir until thoroughly moistened–if still chunky, add water (the water will determine how cake-like the cookies are). Shape dough into balls and place on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake approx 8 minutes or until edges are light golden brown. Cool & remove [this type of cookie I really like to use my cake/icing spatulas to remove from the sheet].


(fudge fused from candies)

I’ve never tried this yet but have the recipe in my back pocket for the day that I decide to try it out (I have so many chocolate chips I need to use!)

Leave a Reply

